Video Games

I miss video games. A lot. They used to be my main source of entertainment and the main focus of my life. They have thrilling stories and immersive visuals that are getting better year after year, or at least that ones I like do.

So with everything that I loved about them, they took away time from me. I still learned a lot while playing them about stories, character building, suspense, and how to end it, both poorly and awesomely. So I would never say that it was time wasted.

But, if I keep going on and spending what little free time I have, there won’t be time to write. I recently resubscribed to World of Warcraft, which is a game that I have played since 2005, and it is a huge time sink. In the mornings when I should have been writing, I was playing.

It was about 2 months that went on, and I realized something. I want to be a writer. I didn’t want to be a professional video game player, I would love to write for video games, but that may come with time. I turned off the subscription, to focus on the important things in my life and not have it take away from what I want to accomplish. So I miss video games.

It is all about what is important in your life that you need to find and focus on. Not to the point of exhaustion mind you, but a northern star. If you have read anything that I have written recently, you know my passion is writing, but my star is to do this for a living. I want to be a full time writer, and get to live in my imagination for a living.

Every week that I have posted something here, every few hundred words that I write out per day, and every encouraging word from the small readership that I have is all fuel for my fire and keeps my star bright.

Distractions and entertainment can be good, but they have to be controlled, less they control you. I also don’t want to always sound preachy, but sometimes when you give advice it can come out that way. I know that I want to help other writers who are going along the same path as I am, and are looking for advice. Anything that I find useful I will link to it and will put it up in the resources section of the website here. It is currently a work in process, but if you have something that I might find useful, please send it to me and I will look into it.

Happy dreaming!

Leave a Reply

